Loki’s Sea Shanty

I fare very poorly under fluorescent lighting

It was a Navy corpsman told me so

But my long nails are good for dirty fighting

To foreign ports in tattered shorts I go

 

I am most vexed by left-lane drivers slow

And so upon my nails I set to biting

To kill, to cleave, to cut in sand or snow

The deed’s enacted twice when set to writing

 

To steal a cosmic hammer made for smiting

All unjust miscreants down below

Would propel my drive for chaos, alighting

Fires of desires in every god(dess) that I know

 

The Sun-Wheel turns

The Yule log burns

From ice and from fire this Middle World churns

 

Blood-price is steep

With giants’ great leap

From the south on a ship made from nails I shall creep

 

Hávamál

Loki (center) and His bad-ass bastards: the goddess Hel, the Fenris Wolf, and Jormungand the World Serpent

Loki (center) and His bad-ass bastards: the goddess Hel, the Fenris Wolf, and Jormungand the World Serpent

Leave a Reply

