Rite of Hades: A Planetary Ritual Honoring a Stellium of Planets in Scorpio

(C) A. Applegate 2013. None may reproduce any portion of this ritual without my written consent.

RITE OF HADES

ERECTING THE TEMPLE

(Light the altar candles and incense. Ring the bell three times, then say:)

“Let it be known that the circle is about to be cast.”

(Hold athame aloft and say:)

“Blessed be, thou creature of Art.”

(Point athame at incense and say:)

“Blessed be, thou creature of Air.”

(Tap chalice of water and say:)

“Blessed be, thou creature of Water.”

(Tap paten with salt and say:)

“Blessed be, thou creature of Earth.”

(Tap candles and say:)

“Blessed be, thou creatures of Fire.”

 

(With athame, mix three pinches of salt into the chalice. With left hand, pick up chalice. Stir liquid déosil with athame and say:)

 

“Salt and Water, Inner and Outer, Body and Soul, be cleansed!

Cast out all that is harmful!

Take in all that is good and healing!

By the Powers of the Triple Goddess!

By the Powers of the Lord of Light!

So mote it be.”

(Using athame, sprinkle the altar and tools, saying:)

 

“May this athame be purified.

May these tools and this altar be purified and consecrated.”

 

(Salute sky and earth with athame and say:)

 

“In the names of life and death, so mote it be.”

 

(Anoint yourself with water at third eye, lips, throat, heart, solar plexus, pubes, and feet, saying:)

“I consecrate myself, A……., in the names of the God and the Goddess.”

 

(Walk the circle déosil, beginning in the east, saying:)

 “Here is the boundary of the Circle of Power

A protection that shall contain the power raised herein

Naught but love shall enter in

Naught but love shall emerge from within.”

 

(Repeat two more times, with water and incense thurible. Ring bell.)

ELEMENTAL INVOCATION

(Begin in the east; draw invoking Air pentagram, saying:)

“Hail, forces of the East, Powers of Air.

Golden eagle of the dawn,

Rising sun, come.

By the air that is His breath,

Send forth Your light. Be here now.”

 

(Kiss the athame blade. Move to south; invoke Fire pentagram:)

“Hail, forces of the South, Powers of Fire.

Red lion of the noon heat,

Spark of life, come.

By the fire that is His spirit,

Send forth Your light. Be here now.”

 

(Kiss athame blade. Move to west; invoke Water pentagram:)

“Hail, forces of the West, Powers of Water.

Ancient serpent of dusk,

Ocean waves, come.

By the waters of Her living womb,

Send forth Your flow. Be here now.”

 

(Kiss athame blade. Move to north; invoke Earth pentagram:)

 “Hail, forces of the North, Powers of Earth.

Black bull of midnight,

Fertile field, come.

By the earth that is Her body,

Send forth Your strength. Be here now.”

 

(Kiss athame. Return to altar. Raise athame in salute, saying:)

 “From cave and desert, sea and hill,

By incense, blade, cup, and pentacle,

All hail the Four Quarters!”

(Ring bell.)

 INVOCATIONS OF THE GODDESS AND THE GOD

(Light Goddess candle.)

“Great Eternal Mother,

Source of all life,

Earth and Center of the Universe,

Hear the voice of one who loves you.

Be with me, Wise Mother,

Teach me Your secret wisdom

Hold me in Your starswept arms

Infuse me with the power of Your all-loving Spirit.

I die, I am born with You, and I die.

The cycle never ceases, and so I am fulfilled.

Join me in this circle.

Guide my heart and mind to union with You.

I call You, Mother of All. Be with me now!”

 

(Ring bell and light God candle.)

“O Noble, Mighty Father

God of Life and Sacrifice

Who dies each year that we might be nourished and transformed,

Son and Lover of the Mother,

Hear the voice of one who loves you.

Be with me, Eternal Father.

Teach me Your strength and compassion.

Protector and Warrior, keep me safe from harm.

Send to all the grain from the fields and the rain from the clouds.

Infuse me with the power of Your all-loving Spirit,

And so I am fulfilled.

Join me in this circle.

Guide my heart and mind to union with You.

I call You, Father of All. Be with me now!”

(Ring bell.)

 

“I am between worlds, beyond the bounds of time,

Where life and death, day and night, joy and sorrow

Meet as One.

The circle is cast,

The fire is lit,

The ritual is begun.”

 

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

(Ring bell.)

“DYNAMIS! I come here on this night to present myself before the Seven Luminary Spheres as we assemble in the House of the Scorpion, before Lord Plouton. It is my will to face and overcome my shadows. I call upon the Seven Luminaries to co-create magick and to witness my words. DYNAMIS!”

 

(Trace symbol of the Moon at Her station.)

“Evoe, Luna!

Sphere of dreaming

Night’s illuminator

Ruler of the tides

Pearl of the soul

Luna,

I invoke Thy pure silver fire.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

“DYNAMIS!”

(Trace symbol of Mercury at His station.)

“Evoe, Mercurius!

Sphere of thought

Winged traveler of the aethers,

Divine messenger,

Magick’s professor,

Mercury,

I invoke Thy bright, swift wisdom.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

“DYNAMIS!”

(Trace symbol of Venus at Her station.)

“Evoe, Venus!

Sphere of emotion

Dancer of the heart,

Love’s sweet inspiration.

Harmony and rhythm of the soul,

Venus,

I invoke Thy beauty and Thy joy.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

“DYNAMIS!”

(Trace symbol of Mars at His station.)

“Evoe, Maris!

Sphere of justice

Defender of truth

Inspiration of courage,

Failure’s adversary,

Mars,

I invoke Thy steadfast strength.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

“DYNAMIS!”

(Trace symbol of Jupiter at His station.)

“Evoe, Jupiter-Lucetius!

Sphere of compassion

Arbiter of mercy

Fortune’s patron

Bestower of abundance,

Jupiter,

I invoke Thy gracious benevolence.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

“DYNAMIS!”

(Trace symbol of Saturn at His station.)

“Evoe, Saturnus!

Sphere of transcendence

Gatemaster of time

Creativity’s aspiration

Cycle of life’s renewal

Saturn,

I invoke Thy transformative power.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

“DYNAMIS!”

(Trace symbol of the Sun at His station.)

“Evoe, Sol!

Sphere of Light,

Illuminator of consciousness,

Source of truth,

Regal healer,

Beacon of success,

Sol,

I invoke Thy blazing purity.

Enter and be welcome!”

 

INVOCATION OF HADES

DYNAMIS! The Ladies and Lords of the Spheres and I assemble at the darksome shrine of Hades, as he sits exalted on the throne of the Scorpion, Master of Death and Secrets, who shines with the treasures of new life. Hail, Dark Lord!”

(Genuflect.)

“Hades, almighty Aidoneus, Lord of Tartarus,

Lord of Wealth, Mighty Plouton,

Son of Kronos and Rhea,

You are feared out of fear of the unknown,

The one thing that comes after we have passed away.

However you might rule over the dead,

You also rule over the living

By showing the worthy the meaning of life

And how precious it is to go to waste.

Polydectes, the receiver of many,

Who is gentle to the just and righteous,

And cruel to those who abused life in all its forms.

Zeus Chthonios,

Be merciful to those who enter Your domain.

Trophonios, show Your might

Eubuleus, give good counsel in times of need

Punish the wicked, reward the righteous,

And guide Your servants by sending Your daimon

To guide me on my path.

Blessings, Dark One!”

 SPELLWORKING

“It is my will to face and overcome my shadows.

Hades, glorious Lord of Night

I call upon You to put things right

Transform the harmful fear and pain

And help my life to be whole again.”

(Burn the baneful in the cauldron.)

“So mote it be!
Let us share the Cup of Friendship to cement our bond.”

(Sip.)

“As above and as below,

As the Universe, so the Soul,

In all Thy infinite wisdom, I thank Thee, O God Hades,

For Thy protection

And in that protection, strength

And in that strength, understanding

And in that understanding, knowledge

And in that knowledge, justice

And in that justice, love

And in that love, light

And in that light, the love of all that exists

The love of the Gods and the Goddesses.”

THANKS AND CLOSINGS

“Rulers of the Spheres,

Lord Hades,

Magna Mater,

I thank You for Your presence, for Your circle,

For light and love,

For this night of change.

I ask Your blessing as You depart. Blessed be!”

RELEASING OF THE ELEMENTALS

(Face north; draw banishing pentagram of Earth and say:)

“Hail, O Mighty Ones.

Forces of the North, Powers of Earth.

I thank You for joining my circle.

And ere You depart to Your shining realms,

I ask for Your blessing.

May there be peace betwixt us,

Now and forevermore,

Hail and farewell!”

(Bow to the Quarter. Face west; draw banishing pentagram of Water and say:)

“Hail, O Mighty Ones.

Forces of the West, Powers of Water.

I thank You for joining my circle.

And ere You depart to Your shining realms,

I ask for Your blessing.

May there be peace betwixt us,

Now and forevermore,

Hail and farewell!”

(Bow to the Quarter. Face south; draw banishing pentagram of Fire and say:)

“Hail, O Mighty Ones.

Forces of the South, Powers of Fire.

I thank You for joining my circle.

And ere You depart to Your shining realms,

I ask for Your blessing.

May there be peace betwixt us,

Now and forevermore,

Hail and farewell!”

 

(Bow to the Quarter. Face east; draw banishing pentagram of Air and say:)

 

“Hail, O Mighty Ones.

Forces of the East, Powers of Air.

I thank You for joining my circle.

And ere You depart to Your shining realms,

I ask for Your blessing.

May there be peace betwixt us,

Now and forevermore,

Hail and farewell!”

 PARTING WORDS

 

“The circle is open but unbroken.

May the peace of the Gods and the Planetary Spheres be in my heart.

Merry meet, merry part, and merry meet again!

Blessed be!”

Leave a Reply

