Dancing for the Gator Spirit

Do you know of the gifts that I bring?

 

oh yes

I breathe

transform my vertebrae

with steps fierce and stealthy

the candlelit stare

my arms

my claws

tail twirls

in Your service

 

but first I must hold Your head aloft

the rains

have come

water will awaken You

delicately

lovingly

I tilt Your head back

the drops splatter upon Your snout

in darkness I see

Your eye fixed on me

damp night air

come swim in Your playground

 

Will you dance to the tune of the gamelan chimes?

 

oh yes

naked do I come before You

the majestic descent

my spine takes on the world’s axis

I unfold as You did

as You do

matter from mud

discharged from my belly

my hands sign the mudras

in air

You are there

the lowing, the grumbles

pregnant exhalations

 

with steps fierce and stealthy

I will dance for You

as exchange

in the process

I revert to my True Self

 

Do you see the great shadow displayed on the wall?

 

oh yes

the fire of me

with steps quickening

I feel my eyes widen

see through peat moss

the scales of my stomach as smooth as river pebbles

I staged a fine combat

I die, I’m reborn

I spiral into and out of the mud astutely

the waters of life

are bled out through my pores

my breasts, my thighs, my ass are

Your offering

 

Will you claim the lit vision behind the glass?

 

oh yes

the pelvis that gyrates

the breasts that heave

the claws that

disentangle and

subtly weave

the dance

of the waters

the sorrows I leave

behind me in that place of dead reckoning

 

Will you partake of My burden and silently grieve?

 

oh yes

my God

for You are most noble

the ancient possession

of twilight’s wisdom

the gleam

as I dream

and wriggle in the rain pools

it was deemed long ago a blessing to know You

 

Then lurch forward, My Daughter

Swim away with Me

The North Star Road has gravel that beckons

We’ll raid the coastlines

of men’s minds

They will see

you take your rightful place

as the Devourer of Non-Being

 

My tail thrashes with pride

Let’s overturn this island

My favorite resident of the Honolulu Zoo: Goliath. I took this picture of him in 2005; shortly thereafter, I stuck my hand under the wooden fence surrounding his pool and I sang to him while petting him. He opened his eyes but never stirred.

My favorite resident of the Honolulu Zoo: Goliath. I took this picture of him in 2005; shortly thereafter, I stuck my hand under the wooden fence surrounding his pool and I sang to him while petting him. He opened his eyes but never stirred.

Leave a Reply

