Prayers to La Santa Muerte: Para la Protección

My work with La Santa Muerte Roja began in earnest in November of 2013, when my boyfriend presented me with a Mexican-made statue of Her that he bought in Albuquerque, New Mexico. (As an aside, if anyone wishes to learn more about Her “cult” and its growing influence North of the Border, I highly recommend R. Andrew Chestnut’s well-researched anthropological overview, Devoted to Death.) The red aspect in La Santissima’s colorful spectrum of energies is devoted, naturally, to amor, but all aspects of Holy Death entail providing devotees with protection on the spiritual and physical planes. Hence I wanted to share some of my prayers and practices for English-speaking devotees.

Detail of La Santa Muerte Roja from my personal shrine. The Mexican-made statue was a gift from my bodacious beau!

Detail of La Santa Muerte Roja from my personal shrine. The Mexican-made statue was a gift from my bodacious beau!

Prayer to La Santa Muerte

Lady Death,

Skeletal Spirit,

Powerful, strong and indispensable,

In moments of anguish, I invoke Your kindness

Plead to God Almighty,

concede what I am asking of You:

That whomever shall wish me harm shall repent for the rest of their lives.

And the harm or the envy of their evil eyes,

let it return to them immediately.

While at play or in business, I declare You my advocate,

and everyone who comes against me,

let them lose.

Oh Lady Death, my protecting angel.

Razor Blade Shielding Spell to Ward the Home

Lady of the Darkness,

Watch over this space and surround me,

Your humble servant, and keep my loved ones here

far away from those of evil will.

If these evildoers do not change their ways,

then let them feel Your power, Good Spirit Death!

Let the light come after the dark

so that Your kingdom is before us in an eternal day.

Bless these blades.

Allow them to cut the evil winds before they enter,

to give advice on how to repel enemies,

to keep away the fury of the elements,

banish all negative intentions and ill will sent here,

and fill my home with joy.

For all this is not possible without You.

[Say “The Lord’s Prayer” three times.]

[Place four razor blades, the kind available at hardware stores, tucked into the frames of either a doorway or a window that serves as your home’s most sensitive entryway. Do this at the time of the full moon; replace the blades monthly.]

Te amo, mi flaquita!

12 thoughts on “Prayers to La Santa Muerte: Para la Protección

    • Thank you, G.B. Marian, and a happy belated Gregorian calendar new year to you and yours!

      I need to retake better photos that show the scope of La Santissima’s shrine; this past weekend, Dan (my boyfriend) and I did some altar rearranging in the master bedroom (between the two of us, we have 4 shrines total in that space) and more swag has been added to La Santa Muerte Roja’s shrine on the south wall. Dan added a lovely White Tara thangka scroll above Mi Flaquita (My Skinny Girl, one of the epithets devotees use for La Santa Muerte) and the latter is very pleased! The flowers at Her shrine have begun to bloom too so the overall effect in that area of the bedroom is one of instant enchantment, especially when the moonlight pours in from the west-facing windows! But for this first photo in this initial post on my relationship with Her, I just wanted to focus on the image of La Santa Muerte Roja Herself and zero in on the Mexican folk magic accoutrements (mirrors, coyote teeth, a rosary for Her I beaded myself as well as a Holy Death one I got at a local botanica) associated with Her images. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have to admit, Santa Muerte is pretty dang awesome. (Then again, I guess you can already tell I’m partial to “good guys in black” – or maybe it should be “not-so-bad guys in black.”) Also, I’m happy to know that your SO is a Pagan too. Not that both partners in a relationship necessarily need to be the same religion or whatever; but it seems like you guys are pretty happy, and I know from experience that it’s pretty sweet to do things like arrange altars together! (I’m just glad my wife doesn’t think I’m crazy for thinking Seth is in my metal records. She thinks I’m crazy, but not because of that thank goodness!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • She’s a swell Gal! But then, I do have a considerable soft spot in my heart for Virgin Death Goddesses in general: besides La Santa Muerte, there’s Hel, of course, and the Yoruba Death Goddess Yewa (depicted as an adolescent girl, rather shy really) and the Greek Persephone (another girl, whose name, etymologically, is cognate with the verb “to die”). Lovely, lethal Ladies all! 🙂

        It’s fun to see shrines that serve several kinds or “aspects” (I see Them as separate Beings) of La Santissima simultaneously: La Santa Muerte Blanca affords protection; La Santa Muerte Negra helps those magickal workings when you gotta go on the offense (it happens) or when you’re engaged in an activity you don’t want prying eyes to discover–i.e., the narcotics cartels South of the Border pray to Her to ensure their shipments cross into the U.S. safely, away from the eyes of the Law; La Santa Muerte Amarilla is prayed to for wealth (Her owl perched atop Her money bags is cute); La Santa Muerte Verde is prayed to for legal matters; and the Blue one (I’m blanking out on my Spanish here!) is prayed to for health. There’s a La Santa Muerte adorned in a rainbow-hued cloak, and that One is the multitasking Santissima, prayed to for all of the above!

        Strangely, the trend I’ve been noticing in Chicago’s Chinatown is an influx of Chinese-made Santa Muerte statues. Last year at the Chinese New Year’s Day Parade, Dan and I saw a huge rainbow-hued La Santissima with a blingey, sequined cloak gleaming in a storefront window. Given that Chicago’s Chinatown is located in the economically downtrodden South Side of the city, the Chinese businesses there know they’re catering to the mostly Mexican adjacent neighborhoods of Pilsen and Bridgeport. It’s interesting to see this cross-cultural and growing familiarity with La Santissima–very fitting, then, that most if not all statues of Her show Her holding the world in Her hands! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you! Yes, it’s a relief to at last be in a committed relationship with someone who AGREES WITH, let alone UNDERSTANDS, my theological stance/moniker/label of “hard polytheist”! (And we have our Co-Masonic Lodge to thank for bringing us together, yaay!) As far as shrine maintenance goes, the hardest challenge is keeping our athletic, adventurous Aries kitten–an avatar of Sekhmet if ever I met one–away from our sacred spaces and ritual objects. After all, tumbled semiprecious stones and items ranging from Tibetan phurpas (Dan’s de rigeur ritual accompaniments for warding, very sensible considering their origins as tools in Bon-inspired Buddhist exorcism rituals) to small ankhs make for such shiny, fun hockey pucks in her Kitteh brain! Hmmm…I just might have to do a series of posts (in honor of Bast, of course) on Kitteh Magick! 🙂

    Like

  2. I have come to know Santa Muerte through my boyfriend. She is very loving and protective. Also she will give u what you ask for. I love her very much.

    Like

  3. i live in mexico city in a sort of questionable neighborhood so shes everywhere, i have a tattoo of her as part of a promise i made but other than her weekly devotions i dont work with her as sweet as she is heavy energy hangs around her and then attaches to me. i find it very interesting that you balance so many deiites and devotions plus ifa how do you do it?

    Like

    • Hi, Maxanna! Thank you for checking out my blog and for commenting on my post regarding La Santisima. I think it’s important to engage in “spiritual hygiene” practices no matter the Holy Powers you devote yourself to. For example, the entire vicinity where I live was built on top of a mass paupers’ graveyard–38,000 mostly nameless dead. I deal with the energies of restless spirits on an ongoing basis, and keeping my environment–and myself–pure are constant ritual practices. As with any other kind of relationship, the ties you cultivate with the Powers you serve (personally, I think They choose you and not the other way around) are mutually beneficial and based on respect.

      Yes, as a polytheistic priestess (a legally ordained one), I serve many Goddesses, Gods, and Spirits, from my ancestors to the nonhuman entities that are the caretakers of the land where I live. Ifa says that I am following my Ori and doing the work that I was put on this earth to do. 🙂

      Blessings to you on your journey!

      Like

Leave a Reply

