My Goddess Sculpture Makes Its Debut in a Chicago Art Gallery in 11 Days!

This is definitely going to be a September to remember for me, and I’m very excited that my activities are located in the intersection of Art and Spirit. My latest terra cotta sculpture, a replica of a Neolithic artifact dating from the Vinča Culture of the prehistoric Balkans (c. 8,000-5,000 B.C.E.–actually, the very figure I made a replica of was unearthed by the late archaeologist Marija Gimbutas in the 1960s in the vicinity in Serbia where my mother hails from), will be making its debut at the upcoming exhibition The Spiritual Power of Art: Myth, Religion & Mystical Experience at the Life Force Arts Center in Chicago. The opening reception for the exhibit is on Saturday, September 12; it runs through January 5, 2016.

My piece is entitled Velika Maijka, which is Serbian for “Great Mother.” Isn’t She cute?

She's more than clay to me...

She’s more than clay to me…

She’s currently adorning my household shrine to my female ancestral spirits. I’ll be bringing Her to the gallery on my birthday, September 8, as I’ll be helping out to install the artwork for the upcoming exhibit with other volunteers.

This is the second sculpture of mine to be making its public debut. As with the first (also a goddess statue, incidentally), Velika Maijka won’t be for sale. I feel that, energetically, it’s important for pieces like this to have a dialogue with the public at large. As a newly appointed Artist in Residence at the Life Force Arts Center, I’ll be working in the year to come on bringing art-centric Pagan and polytheist rituals to life for anyone and everyone to enjoy and to help raise their vibrational levels while honoring specific Powers. I’ll be devising a ritual in particular that has Velika Maijka as its focal point, so stay tuned for details!

Thank you, Jupiter in my Sun Sign, for expanding my creative horizons! Thank you, Ancestors of mine from the Land of the South Slavs, for instilling me with your wisdom and the call to safeguard our Mothers, the sanctity of soil, and the fragile blue planet we’re inhabiting! Živeli--To Life!

Leave a Reply

