The Heart of Anatolia: Folk Dancing at the Annual Turkish Festival in Chicago

What a lovely way to spend one’s lunch break in The Chi, especially with this welcome return of hot summer weather! Chicago’s annual Turkish Festival is underway and lasts through Saturday, September 6. Daley Plaza is transformed into a cultural showcase of the best of Anatolia, from tasty foods to bazaars filled with handmade crafts from Turkey. I loved seeing the dancers: the 5-minute video footage I took from my iPhone camera came out really well; I published it on YouTube.

The dancers are lovely, their costumes exquisite, and I like that I have co-ed footage as well as men’s-only and women’s-only dances. Watching the choreography of the women’s dance gave me delightful goosebumps. I instantly thought of the Goddesses Kybele and Hekate. Fittingly, as I meandered around the bazaar afterwards, I found and wound up purchasing a ceramic pomegranate vase. It’s going on my Hekate shrine when I get home from work! In the meantime, enjoy the dance footage!

2 thoughts on “The Heart of Anatolia: Folk Dancing at the Annual Turkish Festival in Chicago

    • I’ll be going back today during my lunch break for more fun! Hopefully my office will let us out early for the long holiday weekend also. Then I can hang out in the Turkish beer garden–yaay! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

