Novena to La Santa Muerte: Day 2

For the second day of the Novena to La Santa Muerte, which should be a Wednesday, study how the white three-day candle you lit the previous day is burning. Is the glass clear or smoky at its top edges? That can indicate Divine favor or the withholding of it (or challenges to the manifestation of your prayers). How is the flame behaving? If it’s active, flickering and making little crackling sounds, La Santísima is busy at work on your behalf. A slow but steady burn is fine too.

Dump out the stale water in Her clear glass from the previous day and offer fresh water, same thing with the tequila. If the bolilo bread roll has hardened overnight, swap it out with a fresh one. (Never throw bread in the garbage; I always crumble mine up and feed it to birds.) Cookies and candies from the previous day are still good to retain on the altar, as are the flowers (tip: chrysanthemums are traditional flowers for the dead in Mexican culture and they’re hardy and long-lasting, thus they’re ideal to offer to La Santa Muerte).

The second day of the Novena introduces a prayer that is illustrative of the “command and control” magic that is a staple of La Santa Muerte’s cultus. If someone has wronged you, or if a lover’s commitment to you seems dubious, feel free to add three drops of either Holy Death oil, Adam & Eve oil, or Do As I Say oil to recalibrate any imbalance. Petitions to redress injustice are best addressed to La Santa Muerte Verde (the green-robed La Santísima).

 

My La Santa Muerte Roja surveys Her offerings.

My La Santa Muerte Roja surveys the bolilo roll at Her feet and Her other offerings.

Just as with the previous day, when you’re ready to begin, make the Sign of the Cross and say the Prayer of the Holy Death:

 

Lord, before Your Divine Presence,

God Almighty,

Father, Son, and Holy Spirit,

I ask for Your permission to invoke the Holy Death.

Oh, Pretty Girl! Hermosa Niña Blanca!

I want to humbly ask that You break and destroy all spells and darkness that may present themselves

before my person, in my home, and on my path.

Holy Death, please relieve me of all oppression, poverty, and despair.

I ask that You please grant me_________.

Enlighten, with Your Holy Presence, my home, my workplace, and the environments of my loved ones.

Award us health, love, prosperity, and well-being.

Blessed and praised be Your charity, Holy Death.

Lord, I give you infinite thanks because I see Your charity.

The challenges I face every day are perfecting my spirit.

La Santísima, I give You thanks because in the midst of these challenges

I always have Your Holy Blessing.

Amen.

 

If you need to add your drops of essential oils to the already burning candle, do it now. Then pray the Novena prayer for the second day:

 

Holy Death,

My Great Treasure,

You ate Your bread and kindly offered me a piece.

Gracious Hostess, Mighty in the Mansion of Life,

Allow me to walk victoriously in the short time allotted to me in this world.

Grant me this favor:

That [NAME], who did me wrong, 

Is subject to the immutable weighing of Your Scales.

Let not his/her wicked deeds escape Your attention!

Bring [NAME] to my feet, humbled and remorseful.

See to it that (s)/he never leaves my side as long as it pleases me.

Let [NAME] fulfill the promise that was made to me.

And if [NAME] ignores Your command,

Then let [NAME] experience the weight of Your Judgment on his/her head and

Feel Your Power, Good Spirit Death!

I declare You my advocate, Mi Flaquíta*,

And I rejoice that no force can make me cease loving You.

Your mercy is my greatest blessing.

[Again, follow with “The Lord’s Prayer” three times.]

As you did the previous day, conclude with:

In the Name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,

Immaculate Being of Light,

I implore that You grant me these favors that I ask of You.

Until the last day, hour, and second when Your Divine Majesty orders me to be at Your feet,

Dear Death of my heart,

Do not ever leave me unprotected.

*This is a term of endearment that literally means “My Skinny Girl.”

Leave a Reply

