Novena to La Santa Muerte: Day 6

The sixth day of the Novena to La Santa Muerte should fall on a Sunday. As it’s the start of a new week, the emphasis is on purification and on cleanliness. On this day of the Novena, it’s best to approach La Santa Muerte after you’ve had a cleansing spiritual bath, which can be as simple as adding epsom salts and either dried jasmine flowers or drops of jasmine essential oil to your hot bath water. If you’re in need of healing, add hyssop as well. If you’re looking to bolster your spiritual protection/psychic hygiene, rue and bergamot are good choices.

Replace any stale offerings on your shrine with fresh ones. Always change out the water in the clear chalice for La Santa Muerte on a daily basis. Light some copal incense.

La Santa Muerte Roja's shrine capped with a White Tara thangka.

La Santa Muerte Roja’s shrine capped with a White Tara thangka.

 

As before, when you’re ready to begin, make the Sign of the Cross and say the Prayer of the Holy Death:

 

Lord, before Your Divine Presence,

God Almighty,

Father, Son, and Holy Spirit,

I ask for Your permission to invoke the Holy Death.

Oh, Pretty Girl! Hermosa Niña Blanca!

I want to humbly ask that You break and destroy all spells and darkness that may present themselves

before my person, in my home, and on my path.

Holy Death, please relieve me of all oppression, poverty, and despair.

I ask that You please grant me_________.

Enlighten, with Your Holy Presence, my home, my workplace, and the environments of my loved ones.

Award us health, love, prosperity, and well-being.

Blessed and praised be Your charity, Holy Death.

Lord, I give you infinite thanks because I see Your charity.

The challenges I face every day are perfecting my spirit.

La Santísima, I give You thanks because in the midst of these challenges

I always have Your Holy Blessing.

Amen.

 

The petition on the sixth day is to ask for help in living a life true to one’s divinely decreed purpose. Given our fragility as mortals subject to death at any moment whenever the Holy Death ordains it, there’s an understandable emotional tone of urgency.

 

Oh, Sovereign Lady! 

Mistress of Reckonings,

Keeper of both my heart and the threads of my lifespan,

I honor You and give You thanks and praise for the numerous blessings You bestow upon me

In the short time I walk this earth.

Sooner or later, Dear Death of my heart,

All will fall before Your scythe,

Whether old or young, rich or penniless, healthy or ill.  

I earnestly beg of You that I not be taken until after I have fulfilled my divinely decreed mission in this life.

Teach me to walk the path of my destiny with courageous, unfaltering steps.

Should I ever stray from it, give me signs,

Oh, my protecting Angel.

And when I am walking the road meant for me,

Give me signs to encourage taking further steps:

Let the right opportunities come to me at the right time through the right connections and resources.

Let my gifts be developed and shared as God wills it.

Let every step in my life’s journey support my alignment with my destiny.

So that when You do command me to appear before Your feet, 

I will be able to leave this earth and all whom I love behind willingly,

And we will rejoice in the everlasting day.

Amen.

[Again, follow with “The Lord’s Prayer” three times.]

 

As you did the previous day, conclude with:

 

In the Name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,

Immaculate Being of Light,

I implore that You grant me these favors that I ask of You.

Until the last day, hour, and second when Your Divine Majesty orders me to be at Your feet,

Dear Death of my heart,

Do not ever leave me unprotected.

Leave a Reply

