I’m Teaching a “Kemetic Polytheism” 101 Workshop at World Tree Healing in Chicago This Saturday!

Aloha and Happy New Year! I’m back in wintry Chicago, having recently returned from my dreamy destination wedding and honeymoon on the magical island of Maui (where I took the gorgeous Kihei sunset photo you see as the featured image for this post). Yes, my Bodacious Beau™ Daniel and I finally tied the proverbial knot! Huzzah! And now that planning workshops, public rituals, and other magical events for the year has begun in earnest, I’m happy to announce that I’ll be leading a two-hour “Kemetic Polytheism 101” workshop at World Tree Healing metaphysical bookstore in Chicago’s Albany Park neighborhood this coming Saturday, January 21, from 5 to 7 p.m. CST.

Serving the Gods of Ancient Egypt Today

This workshop will introduce participants to Kemetic Reconstructionist Polytheism, a devotional tradition that seeks to modify and adapt for (post)modern life several aspects of ancient Egyptian cultic practice for personal and group religious worship.

What were the everyday religious lives of ordinary people in Egypt’s remarkably uniform 3,000-year history like? What do we know about the role of temples and clergy? How did people regard their Gods? What do these insights mean for modern Polytheists wishing to reconstruct the beliefs of the ancient Egyptians today?

Part lecture, part discussion, and concluding with a ritual that showcases my personal devotional practice, this academically oriented workshop—intended for adults—will be a platform for exploring a vibrant living spirituality.

Chicagoland readers of this blog, I hope to see you there!

2 thoughts on “I’m Teaching a “Kemetic Polytheism” 101 Workshop at World Tree Healing in Chicago This Saturday!

    • Thank you, old friend! A very happy new year to you and yours, and cheers to this month which will eventually usher in the Spring Equinox! One of my favorite times of year. The weather here has been so volatile, I’m dumbfounded when I’m exposed to climate change deniers. Counting down the days until my sun-starved plants can be moved out onto the balcony! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

